home about us contact us services departments news gallery business


Ayamelum local government Area, with the slogan “food basket of the state” is a young local government carved out of Oyi local Government in December 1996, with its headquarters at Anaku. It is made up of eight (8) communities Namely, Anaku, Omor, Igbakwu, Umueje, Umumbo, Ifite-ogwari, Umerum and Omasi, politically, it is made up of eleven wards and are predominantly farmers with a projected population of above 134,860 based on the 2006 population census figure.

The local government occupies a vast land mass of above 85,000 square kilometers and are enveloped by Ezu and Omambala Rivers and cut across all the communities. Based on statistics, it is a fact that above 85% of the population are engaged in subsistence and commercial farming, about 10% are engaged in petty trading while 5% are employed in the civil service. The above percentage analysis reflects the fact that about 70% of Ayamelum people are poor.

Ayamelum, like any other Igbo communities speaks Igbo and have interest in raising many children whom they believe will look after them during their old age. In health issues, Ayamelum local government has tried tremendously by providing health facilities that numbered four (4) health centers and eleven health posts to the various communities.













Services Overview





Copyright © 2011 Ministry of Local Government & Chieftaincy Matters Government House Awka, Anambra State.